Why mask the gluing surfaces?

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
4 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Why mask the gluing surfaces?

sinfronteras
Most builders I've studied seem to mask the gluing surfaces while sheating/impregnating. I've tried to find a reference in François' instructions and Ian Oughtred's book, but I haven't found any.

AFAIK, epoxy is supposed to bind very well on both well cured and 90% cured surfaces, as long as they're amine free and/or lightly sanded.

Then, why would you want to mask the gluing surfaces? Isn't the risk of skipping an area (for example in the buoyancy compartments) greater than the possible advantage of slightly better binding?
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Why mask the gluing surfaces?

Portnastorm
Hi, Prompted by PaulW I'll do my best to reply to this.
Caveat, I'm not a professional, this is just how I do things, and it's worked fine for me so far, five boats in.

To begin with I've read quite a few books and everything written in Watercraft over the last 15 years or so and I'm not aware of people masking the gluing surfaces, which might explain my reluctance to answer the question. Maybe I'm misunderstanding.

The question also implies that the sheathing and impregnation is happening before the parts are glued which is not the way I'd normally do things, however I do recall sheathing the bottom boards on the Morbic before assembly.

I don't see any need to mask off the gluing surfaces, on the bottom boards any surplus glue will be planed off when the edges are bevelled.  

My process for planking would be to plane/cut the bevels lands etc until I'm happy with the dry fit.  
Mark a point mid way along both planks to help line things up when you re-fit.
Mark the lap in pencil on the new plank.
Optional, mask the outer edges of the glued surfaces to help remove dribbles.
Prime both surfaces with neat un-thickened epoxy.