A morbic 12 in the bay of biscay

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
14 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

A morbic 12 in the bay of biscay

magaliatres
Just an update on the boat construction. So far the hull is glued, just in need of some external fairing and epoxy sealing of plywood edges. As a newbie i have a lerning process that almost complete when glueing the last strake. I think I will have to build another boat, now that I know how to do it… tempting.

I also worked on the rudder, tiller, centerboard and centerboard case. As I don’t like the idea of buying a expensive 14 mm brass rod to use just a 4 cm for the centerboard pivot, I made a 10 mm wooden rod and wrapped in glass fiber and epoxy. I’m not sure how will it work.

For the rudder I also took a different approach from the project: i will make the rudder case fixed, permanently glued, and have a bronze bolt as a pivot. I will use the same wooden rod with fiberglass and epoxy, but drilled inside, to leave only the fg skin, to act as a sleeve inside to adsorb the compression from the bolt, thus enabling the rudder blade to pívot freely. I also routed a channel under the tiller space  to get the rope to lift the rudder blade inside the boat. Also did a fancy head for the tiller.

All in all… enjoying the build!!

Reply | Threaded
|

Re: A morbic 12 in the bay of biscay

PaulW
Administrator
Hi Magaliatres.
Nice record and pics.
Skills perfected by the time one has done the final strake - Many of us found the same!
Some interesting techniques you've adopted.  FWIW:-
Centreboard pivot - We bought a stainless bolt and cut it down to be a rod.
Rudder pivot - Let us know how you get on with it.  At least one Morbic sailor experienced partial failure of the rudder stock which he resolved.  We heard about it in time to use screws from both sides of the stock into the (Vivier-specified) wooden disk pivot.
Reply | Threaded
|

magaliatres
This post was updated on .